3rd Bernard Bruno Memorial Quickplay - 18th June 2011

Bernard Bruno Memorial Rapidplay 201114 players turned up for the 3rd Bernard Bruno memorial tournament – 6 rounds of 20 minute games but handicapped according to grading difference.  Several pairings saw the maximum swing of 18 minutes versus 2 and it made for some highly enjoyable chess with most games going into the last 5 minutes and some fantastic time scrambles.

There were many amusing moments;

In the end Chris Jones’s wild, hacking, attacking play proved effective and the reigning champion (who obviously plays a far more sophisticated game than the new champion’s coffee house style) could only muster 3rd and had to suffer the indignity of losing to his eldest son.

Terry looked poised for 2nd or 3rd until William turned around a lost position in their last round game to claim 2nd. 

After a couple of early setbacks, Dave Wallis went on a charge and claimed the Ian Halsey / Ken Lane prize for highest first round loser.  A last round win for Joseph Allin saw him overtake Sam to take the Top Junior trophy (albeit from Arthur by ½ a point on sum of opponent’s scores).  The Under 100 prize went deservedly to Ken Hawarth who played about 19 mins 45 seconds in each round!

The tournament was played in a great spirit and big thanks also to Colin, John, Dave Bradley and Robin who competed well.  Also thanks to Carol who provided the catering and for keeping the web site up to date.

Look forward to seeing you all next season.


Chris Jones


Will Graham


Dave Graham

Highest First Round Loser

Dave Wallis

Top Junior

Joseph Allin

Top Under 100

Ken Hawarth

Bernard Bruno Memorial Rapidplay 2011 Bernard Bruno Memorial Rapidplay 2011 Bernard Bruno Memorial Rapidplay 2011